Chipotle Mushroom Potato Taco with Cilantro Lime “Crema”

IMG_5131

“Night enters the Plaza, step by step, in the singular
flaring of lamps on churro carts, taco stands,
benches set with deep bowls of pozole,
on rugs embroidered with relics, crosses, bones,
                           pamphlets, dream books.”
-Jay Wright

 

I recently made my own tortillas for the first time and was amazed by how easy it was. This time around, I cut about 1/2 cup kale into small bits, steamed them, and added them to the dough. I’ve been thinking about getting a tortilla press because they never turn out as thin and symmetrical as I like, but I guess at least it’s obvious they’re homemade.

Tortillas: I like this recipe, but after making it the first time I doubled the salt. I also used olive oil instead of canola oil, and I thought they tasted even better.

Filling: I do a lot of variations on this easy and delicious taco filling. Dice onions and saute in olive oil until they’re nice and soft. Add finely diced potatoes and cover them with a layer of broth or water, adjusting salt accordingly. Keep doing this (it usually takes a few rounds) until they’re getting soft, then add any other veggies you might want. I like mushrooms, and this time I also added one chipotle pepper from a can, which I break up with my hand over the pan so I don’t lose all the juice. Don’t stir much–if you’re using mushrooms, let them release their juices and brown nicely, and a little color on the potatoes is nice too. Add chili powder, smoked paprika, and a drop of maple syrup or agave. I also like a touch of liquid smoke. Finally, add a quarter pack of soyrizo and two diced green onions.

“Crema”: This time, I drizzled my taco with roasted jalapeno cilantro lime “crema” I’d made recently for a Mexican pizza. For that, I started with Tofutti “Better Than Sour Cream and added a handful of cilantro, a roasted jalapeno, and lime and salt to taste. Then I blended them all together with my immersion blender.

I also added pickled onion, which is just diced onion in three parts vinegar mixed with one part water. Give it a few hours, and it adds a nice tangy bite to tacos.

 

Leave a Reply

